The PS3 offers the very convenient option of downloading PSP content from the PSN store, store it on the local hard drive to later be transferred to a PSP or a PS Vita.
And here comes the catch:
When you connect a PS Vita to the PS3 via Content Manager and use the function to transfer “Applications (PSP/Other) downloaded to the PS3 system” to the PS Vita, while the “Please wait” is shown on the PS Vita and before the PS3 sends the list of available titles, it fetches a list from PSN servers and crosschecks the local content against this list and only offers those titles to be transferred that are not “blocked” by said list.
I don’t know if it is a blacklist or a whitelist, and it’s encrypted, but it is used to hide or block out titles from being transferred to the PS Vita!
So, for example:
You downloaded MotorStorm Arctic Edge in time to your PS3 and also successfully transferred it to the PS Vita and did not delete it from the PS3.
If you now (that it was used for an exploit) try to transfer it again, you would not be able to. The PS Vita will not see the title.
These are the files fetched by the PS3 for said list:
The PC version of CMA might do similar things, and if it’s actually a whitelist, OpenCMA wouldn’t help here.